How to Comply with CMMC Requirements

The Department of Defense (DoD) prioritizes cybersecurity to defend against sophisticated cyberattacks targeting the Defense Industrial Base (DIB). The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) 2.0 program underscores this priority by setting stringent cybersecurity standards to protect Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).

CMMC 2.0: An Overview

Evolving from CMMC 1.0, the CMCC 2.0 program aligns with DoD’s information security requirements, focusing on safeguarding Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) within the DIB. It streamlines compliance into three levels, aligns with National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) standards, and introduces flexible compliance mechanisms. This transition reflects a focused effort to simplify compliance while addressing the dynamic landscape of cybersecurity threats.

Key Features of CMCC 2.0

  • Tiered Model: Establishes three levels of compliance, tailored to the sensitivity of the information handled, ensuring that more critical information receives higher levels of protection.
  • Assessment Requirement: Introduces a mix of self-assessments for Level 1 and a combination of self and third-party assessments for Level 2, allowing the DoD to verify adherence to cybersecurity standards.
  • Implementation through Contracts: Makes achieving a specific CMCC level a contractual requirement for handling sensitive unclassified DoD information, directly linking cybersecurity compliance to contract eligibility.

Complying with CMMC involves several key steps:

  1. Identify CMMC Level: Determine your required CMMC level based on the information your organization handles.
  2. Gap Analysis: Assess discrepancies between current cybersecurity practices and CMMC 2.0 standards.
  3. System Security Plan (SSP): Document your security controls and how they meet CMMC requirements, including policies and procedures.
  4. Implement Security Controls: Address gaps from your analysis by applying necessary security measures per your CMMC level.
  5. Plan of Action and Milestones (POA&M): Develop a plan to remediate cybersecurity weaknesses, specifying actions, responsible parties, and timelines.
  6. Internal Assessments: Routinely review and audit your cybersecurity measures for CMMC compliance.
  7. Certification: Obtain formal CMMC certification by working with a Certified Third-Party Assessor Organization (C3PAO).
  8. Continuous Compliance: Continuously monitor and update your cybersecurity practices to meet evolving CMMC standards.

Share & Subscribe

Ready to Get Your Time Back?

Give us only 20 minutes and we will show you how to get 20 hours back.

Book a Demo